Expositor's Bible: The Book of the Twelve Prophets, Volume I

by George Adam Smith


Expositor's Bible: The Book of the Twelve Prophets (Volume I, 1906) is part of the original fifty volumes known as The Expositor's Bible, edited by W. Robertson Nicoll. This commentary on the twelve minor prophets is a two-volume work of George Adam Smith. This volume includes a timetable of the minor prophets and the kings they prophesied under. Smith provides an overview of the minor prophets with a brief history as to how they came to be in the order they are and their placement in the Bible. He also makes the point that within these twelve prophets, we are given examples and glimpses of God's character, from His great love to His just wrath. Chapter II brings to light the historical setting and tasks of the prophets. Particular attention is paid to Israel in the eighth century as it pertains to prophets such as Elisha and Elijah in Chapter III. The impact of the Assyrians on Israel and Prophecy is outlined in Chapter IV. The remainder of this volume is expositions on Amos, Hosea, and Micah.

Wailand Groenendyk
CCEL Staff Writer

About George Adam Smith

View author page »

Picture of George Adam Smith
  Born: October 19, 1856
Died: March 3, 1942
Related topics: Middle East--Jerusalem, Middle East--Palestine, Bible, Historical geography, Geography, …
VIEWNAME is workInfo