Note 106
From Chapter 40 of the Decline & Fall

The six books of the Edifices of Procopius are thus distributed: the first is confined to Constantinople: the second includes Mesopotamia and Syria the third, Armenia and the Euxine; the fourth, Europe; the fifth, Asia Minor and Palestine; the sixth, Egypt and Africa. Italy is forgot by the emperor or the historian, who published this work of adulation before the date (A.D. 555) of its final conquest.

« LAST » Note « NEXT »